West Indies beat England in Cricket World Cup Twenty20 final

KOLKATA (Staff Report) – West Indies defeated England by 4 wickets in World T20 2016 final match at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

England posted 156 runs target against West Indies.

Earlier, West Indies captain Darren Sammy won the toss and elected to field first.

Carlos Brathwaite hit four consecutive sixes as West Indies scored 24 off the final over to beat England in an astonishing World Twenty20 final.

England Squad:

Jason Roy, James Vince, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Moeen Ali, Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Sam Billings, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Reece Topley, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Liam Dawson.

West Indies Squad:

Darren Sammy (c), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor

Earlier, first semifinal was played between England and New Zealand on Wednesday at New Delhi’s Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium. England won the match by seven wickets.

While in the second semifinal West Indies beat host India after a remarkable run chase of 193 in the given 20 overs.

Both England and West Indies have already won one World T20 title each. This will happen for first time in T20 history that any team will win mega event for second time.

Ten teams fought each other in Super 10 round to reach semifinals, after a qualifying round where Bangladesh and Afghanistan remained the two top teams.

The men’s event carries a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.